Like A Phoenix

Just Shy of 11 Years

In June of 2003 I joined Cambridge Toastmasters and slowly worked my way through the Communication and Leadership Tracks, occasionally speeding up when I noticed I was close to a recognition level.  When I earned my DTM, the highest level of recognition that Toastmasters offers I was ecstatic and eager to earn it a second time.

I have always been of a mind during my time in Toastmasters to step back when possible and let newer members move forward.  I want them to grow, to achieve everything they want to in Toastmasters, and so often that meant I took a step more towards being a guide, a mentor, and offering encouragement.

I’ve seen growth in so many of those members who came along after I did and have made life long friendships in the process.  

I have never tried to kid myself though that if it came down to it that financial challenges might some day put a halt to my ongoing journey with Toastmasters.

The realization that this time had arrived came in early 2014 and so when it came time to renew my dues in March, I made a very difficult decision and opted not to renew with a club I had been with for just under 11 years.  My last night as a paid member I had made sure I was signed up to be a speaker.  I wanted to share everything that night that Toastmasters had done for me.  I wanted those in attendance to know just how much it had changed my life and how much I believe in the organization.

Lapsed members came out in support.  The Toastmaster I was mentor to was on the verge of tears, and my evaluator was one of the best in the club and a longtime member who had joined not too long after I had.  In short it was what I wanted.  As close to a final meeting as I could have hoped for.

Some day, when things are better financially I know I will return and have already proven I can’t stay away as I’ve visited the club 3 times since March.  After all I still need to earn that 2nd DTM.

Thank you for an incredible 11 years Cambridge Toastmasters

September 6, 2014 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment